Signing of law reapportioning Isabela into 6 dictricts hailed

CITY OF CAUAYAN, Isabela — Local leaders and villagers here are ecstatic over the recent signing by President Rodrigo Duterte of a law reapportioning the province of Isabela into six legislative districts.

Political leaders foresee “more funds” and “better representation” with the creation of two more districts.

Isabela solon Napoleon Dy (3rd District) told the Philippine News Agency on Sunday that this would mean “better development to village folks as additional Congress representatives would bring in projects aside from making laws vital to the country.”

Anac-IP Partylist Rep. Jose Panganiban Jr. agreed that the “large populace” would be helped with the additional congressmen.

Vice Governor Antonio “Tonypet” Albano said the reapportionment shows that Isabela is “truly progressing and becoming a more vibrant province.”

“The six congressmen will be able to take care of their constituents as their congressional districts are now smaller in terms of municipalities and cities that they will represent. Therefore, only good will come out in having to have two more additional districts,” he told the PNA also on Sunday.

Market vendor Betting Cabaccan said the congressmen would have lesser towns under their stead but more funds would pour in for every district.

Isabela is the second largest province in the country in terms of land area and recorded 1,593,566 people as of the 2015 census of the Philippine Statistics Authority.

It had an internal revenue allotment of PHP221.28 million in 2016; PHP249.01 million in 2017; and PHP267.13 million this year, according to the website of the Department of Budget and Management.

President Duterte last week signed Republic Act No. 11080 creating two more districts in the province of Isabela. As a result, six congressional posts will be up for grabs in the next elections instead of four.

The Commission on Elections will make the implementing rules and regulations within 30 days upon the effectivity of the law after its publication in the Official Gazette or in a newspaper of general circulation.

The new legislative districts of Isabela will now be as follows: First District – Ilagan City, Cabagan, Delfin Albano, Divilacan, Maconacon, Tumauini, San Pablo, Sta. Maria, and Sto. Tomas;

Second District – Benito Soliven, Palanan, Naguilian, Reina Mercedes, San Mariano, and Gamu;

Third District – Alicia, Cabatuan, San Mateo, Ramon, and Angadanan;

Fourth District – City of Santiago, Cordon, Dinapigue, San Agustin and Jones;

Fifth District – Aurora, Burgos, Luna, Mallig, Quezon, Quirino, Roxas, and San Manuel;

Sixth District – Cauayan City, Echague, San Guillermo and San Isidro. Bill Visaya /PNA –