Rosal, Katigbak rule Seniors, Mid-Am golfest

MANILA — Abe Rosal and Gerald Katigbak on Friday shared top honors in the Philippine Seniors and Mid-Amateur Open Championships at the Mt. Malarayat Golf and Country Club in Lipa City, Batangas.

Rosal, kept his nine-shot lead even with a fat 79 in a pressure-free final round en route to capturing his first ever senior championship crown as Dave Hernandez failed to make a charge by also ending up with a 79.

Rosal tallied 224, including an opening 74, while Hernandez, who showed up the field with a 72 in the first round, finished with a 233. Jose Mari Hechanova carded a second 78 for a 236 and clinched third place in the 54-hole event held as part of the PLDT Group National Amateur Golf Tour and backed by the MVP Sports Foundation.

In the Mid-Am, Katigbak marked his final round with six birdies against four bogeys for 70 and a 143 netting him a whopping 13-stroke victory over Hurry Cabajar for a second straight Mid-Am Open title in the 36-hole tournament organized and conducted by the National Golf Association of the Philippines (NGAP) and supported by hole-in-one sponsor Bushnell Prox2 Rangefinder.

Cabajar shot a 74 for a 156 while Earel Gardiola wound up third with a 157 after an 81.

Don Petil and Korean Shin Seo Yun also posted a pair of runaway triumphs in the Elite Amateur Open with the former matching par 72 for a 218 and beating Ivan Monsalve, who had a 222 after a 75. On the other hand, Shin carded a 73 for a 220 and a five-shot victory over compatriot Kwon Seo Yon, who made a 74 for a 225.

Allan Alegre scored a 79 for a 161 and took the Seniors Division I plum with a 161, 10 shots over Bimbo Iñigo, who had an 84-171, while Philip del Carmen ruled Division II with a 162 after an 82, eight ahead of Tsutomo Fujita (87-170), while Katy Katigbak tallied an 80 for 161 to edge Bong Sison (81-162) for the Super Senior crown.

Philip Lindog carded an 84 for a 160 and beat Walter Lacuesta (83-164) for the Mid Am Open Division honor; while Boom Coscolluela scrambled for an 88 and a 175 and held off Johnyton de Guzman (86-178) for the Division II title.

Other net winners were Jerome Hernandez (85-138-Mid Am I), John Marc Andaya (72-139-Mid Am II), Adormeo Garcia (71-134-Senior Division I), Butch Bacunawa (72-138-Senior Division II), and Noli Macasaet (68-136-Super Senior). Primo Agatep/