Qatar imposes entry ban vs. PH, 13 other countries

Qatar imposes entry ban vs. PH, 13 other countries

MANILA – The Qatar government on Monday imposed a temporary entry ban on travelers from 14 countries, including the Philippines, as the 2019 coronavirus disease (Covid-19) continues to spread worldwide.

The Philippine Embassy in Doha advised Filipinos to take note of the said travel ban which takes effect beginning March 9.

All Doha-bound passengers who traveled to the following countries in the last 14 days are covered:

  • Philippines
  • Bangladesh
  • China
  • Egypt
  • India
  • Iran
  • Iraq
  • South Korea
  • Lebanon
  • Nepal
  • Pakistan
  • Sri Lanka
  • Syria
  • Thailand

In a statement dated March 8, the Qatari government said the step comes in line with its effort to take all necessary preventive measures to limit the spread of the Covid-19.

“The decision affects all individuals intending to enter from these countries, including visas upon arrival, those with a residence or work permit, and temporary visitors,” it said.  Joyce Ann L. Rocamora /PNA –