PSC awards P43M to AIMAG, ASEAN Para Games medalists

MANILA — The Philippine Sports Commission (PSC) has distributed a total of PHP43 million to the medalists and coaches of the 9th ASEAN Para Games and 5th Asian Indoor and Martial Arts Games (AIMAG).

The cash incentives were awarded by PSC chairman William “Butch” Ramirez and Philippine Olympic Committee (POC) president Jose Cojuangco Jr. in a simple ceremony at the Philsports Multi-purpose Arena in Pasig City on Friday.

“The PSC is supportive of athletes and coaches who work hard to bring honor to the country. It is for love of country that we do what we do,” Ramirez said.

The Philippines won two golds, 14 silvers and 14 bronzes in the AIMAG held in Ashgabat, Turkmenistan. 

The gold winners are Jujitsu athletes Annie Ramirez (women’s Ne-waza 55kg) and Margarita Ochoa (women’s Ne-waza 45kg). 

Ramirez and Ochoa got PHP2 million each while their respective coaches namely John Baylon and Hansel Terence Co received P1 million each.

For Asian-level competitions, the incentive for silver medal is PHP1 million and PHP500,000 for bronze. 

The Philippines also captured 20 golds, 20 silvers and 29 bronze medals during the ASEAN Para Games in Kuala Lumpur, Malaysia. 

Triple gold winners Cendy Asusano and Ma. Cielo Honasan of athletics led the ASEAN Para Games medallists.

For the ASEAN Para Games, a gold medal is worth PHP150,000, silver is PHP50,000 and the bronze PHP30,000.

Also, present during the awarding ceremony were Team Philippines head of delegations Gerardo Rosario (ASEAN Para Games) and Makati Congressman Monsour del Rosario (AIMAG).

Rosario is the secretary general of the Philippine Paralympic Committee while Del Rosario is secretary general of the Philippine Taekwondo Association.

Rosario, a swimmer, and Del Rosario, a Taekwondo athlete, are both Olympians(PNA)