President Aquino declares June 20 a special non-working day in Laoag

LAOAG CITY – President Benigno S. Aquino III has declared June 20 as a special non-working day in this city in celebration of its 51st Charter Day.

Aquino issued the declaration through Proclamation No. 1296 signed by Executive Secretary Paquito N. Ochoa Jr. on June 16 to give residents of Laoag full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies.

On June 19, 1965, Laoag became a city by virtue of Republic Act No. 4584. It has remained the capital city of Ilocos Norte.

But Laoag City Mayor Chevylle Fariñas requested that on Monday, June 20, 2016 instead of June 19, 2016, which falls on a Sunday, be declared as a non-working holiday in Laoag.

Laoag was organized as a town in 1585, becoming the first parish and first town in the northern portion of the old Ilocos that consist the provinces of Ilocos Norte, Ilocos Sur, and La Union. PNA/