MANILA — The Philippine National Police (PNP) on Wednesday condemned the latest attacks of the rebel group New People’s Army (NPA) which killed six policemen and injured 15 others in Baggao, Cagayan on Tuesday morning.

“The acts of the NPA clearly show their utter disregard of human lives and concern of the welfare of the local populace despite of the effort of the government to uplift the well being of the people of Cagayan thru sustained development,” said PNP Spokesperson Chief Supt. Wilben Mayor.

The six policemen who died in the attack were identified as PO1 Ryan G. Annang, PO1 Derrel P. Sunico, PO1 Arjay A. Bautista, PO1 Rogelio C. Alfonso, PO1 Julius N. Soriano and PO1 Jaypy P. Aspiros.

Mayor said the PNP leadership assures the surviving families and kin of the “fallen hero cops” of financial support and social benefits.

”On behalf of a grateful nation, the PNP high command extends condolences to the orphaned families of the deceased. Initially, the bereaved families shall be provided with PNP financial support and benefits from the Public Safety Mutual Benefit Fund Inc. (PSMBFI),” he said.

”We urge our people to denounce these acts of the NPA and support the effort of the government by providing us information that would lead to the arrest of the perpetrators and bring them to justice. We extend our deepest condolences to the families of the slain policemen and ensure that their welfare will be attended to soonest,” he added.

Sr. Supt. Ronaldo Olay, Cagayan Provincial Police Office director, said the encounter took place in KM 20, Barangay Sta. Margarita, at 10:00 a.m on Tuesday.

The NPAs reportedly attacked Bruscan, a construction company handling the irrigation project in the town.

Chief Supt. Franklin Moises Mabanag, Cagayan Valley Regional Police deputy director for administration, said elements of the Regional Public Safety Battalion were deployed to Baggao to investigate an arson incident allegedly carried out by NPA members and pursue the attackers.

The 15 policemen who were wounded are Sr. Insp Arnel I. Acain, PO3 Jeremy F. Garcias, PO1 Olier R. Cabildo, PO1 Elvis C. Madali, PO1 Edmar T. Mallillin, PO1 Jobert N. Ducusin, PO1 John Fritz G. Balunsat, PO1 Richmon E., Diesto, PO1 Kelvin E. Taguibao, PO1 Jae Mark S. Camaraunan, PO1 Mark Lester T. Layugan, Sr. Insp. Clan Cabansi, PO2 Jaypol C. Melad, PO1 Estanislao S. Calayan and PO1 Mateo A. Ballad.

Meanwhile, the PNP reminded anew all police regional offices to be remain vigilant, enhance personnel security and conduct preventive and proactive operations in coordination with military units against lawless elements and criminal groups. Priam F. Nepomuceno & Christopher Lloyd T. Caliwan/John Jake A. Crisostomo (OJT)/