PMA presents Top 10 of Salaknib Class of 2017

FORT del PILAR, BAGUIO CITY -– The Philippine Military Academy (PMA) candidate for valedictorian and cum laude, cadet (cdt) 1st cl Rovi Mariel Martinez, tops “Sanggalang ay Lakas at Buhay na Alay Para sa Kalayaan ng Inang Bayan” or “SALAKNIB” Class of 2017.

Martinez said this was a result of her daily aim for excellence. She will also receive the Presidential Saber, Philippine Navy Saber, Academic Group Award, Navy Prof Courses Plaque, Joint US Military Assistance Group (JUSMAG), Association of Generals and Flag Officers (AGFO), Spanish and Australian Defense Force Award.

Martinez, who is from Cabanatuan City, will eventually join the Philippine Navy (PN).

Top 2 cdt 1st cl Philip Modestano Viscaya from Ligao City, Albay is the candidate for Salutatorian and will also be awarded as Cum Laude.

Viscaya said he will join the Philippine Army and with his continuous struggle for excellence, sees himself as the future Armed Forces of the Philippines (AFP) Chief of Staff.

Cdt 1st cl Eda Glis Buansi Marapao is the third in the top 10 list and is from Baguio City.

Marapao also topped her class at the Saint Louis University (SLU) taking up a civil engineering course before qualifying at the PMA.

Marapao will join the Philippine Navy.

Top 4 is cdt 1st cl Cathleen Jovi Santiano Baybayen of the City of San Fernando, Pampanga started college at the University of the Philippines Los Banos (UPLB) taking up a course as a food technologist.

The second male in the top 10 list is the class Battalion Commander, cdt 1st cl Carlo Emmanuel Manalansan Canlas of Lubao, Pampanga, will join the Philippine Air Force (PAF).

Cdt 1st cl Shiela Joy Ramiro Jallorina of Bagabag, Nueva Vizcaya, top 6 will also join the PAF.

Top 7 in her class is cdt 1st cl Sheila Marie Calonge De Guzman of Manaoag, Pangasinan will join the PA.

De Guzman graduated cum laude of Bachelor of Science in Business Administration at the University of Baguio before she entered PMA.

Three Cadets from Mindanao entered the top 10 – cdt 1st cl Joyzy Mencias Funchica will graduate in the as eight place. Funchica is from Butuan City.

Top 9 is cdt 1st cl Jezreel Arrocena Hucalla of Compostella Valley and Top 10 is cdt 1st cl Catherine Mae Emeterio Gonzales of Zamboanga City.

Hucalla and Gonzales will join the PAF.

Other awardees include cdt 1st cl Franklin Dellomos (Athletic Saber); cdt 1st cl Michelle Calusor (Journalism Award); cdt 1st cl Karen Joy Gamboa (Computing and Information Sciences Plaque) and cdt 1st cl Ma Isaia Pearl Paracale (Mathematic Plaque).

PMA-MA7, Lt. Col. Reynaldo B. Balido Jr. said the PMA graduation will be on March 12 with President Rodrigo Roa Duterte as Guest of Honor and Speaker.

A total of 167 1st class cadets are candidates for graduation and 63 are females he said.

PMA Supt, Lt. Gen Donato B. San Juan II said changes may, however, happen in the remaining five days before graduation. Tarla Tingal/