Palace declares June 19 as non-working day in Laoag

LAOAG CITY — In time for the celebration of Laoag’s Charter Day, President Rodrigo Duterte has declared June 19 as a special non-working holiday in the city.

“The people of Laoag City must be given full opportunity to celebrate and participate in the occasion with appropriate ceremonies,” Executive Secretary Salvador Medialdea said in Proclamation No. 506 signed on May 31.

Laoag became a city in 1965 by virtue of Republic Act 4584, and was approved through a plebiscite.

In view of this, Laoag City Mayor Chevylle Fariñas, in a media interview on Monday, said there are series of events the city government is preparing for the observance of its 53rd Charter Day anniversary.

To highlight the occasion, Fariñas said there will be an oath-taking of the newly-elected Barangay and Sangguniang Kabataan officials and to recognize the three-termer village chairmen and councilors.

“As a tribute to them (village officials), the city government will find ways to give them a plaque of recognition and some cash incentive if we can work it out with the Commission on Audit,” said Fariñas.

She said the activity will be symbolic as it signifies that the election is over and the next thing they will do as united Laoageños is to go back to reality and serve the public.

On June 18, the city government is also expected to launch the Bahay Pag-asa for women and children and a retirement home for seniors.

There will also be a series of bloodletting activities to be participated by city government employees, members of the Philippine National Police, Bureau of Jail Management and Penology, among others, for the donation of more blood at the Laoag City General Hospital. (