Mojdeh leads gold winners in Singapore swimming tournament


MANILA, Aug. 13 – Micaela Jasmine Mojdeh of Immaculate Heart of Mary College-Paranaque broke two records on her way to winning two gold medals at the start of the 2017 Singapore Island Country Club (SICC) Invitational Swimming Championship on Saturday.

Mojdeh ruled the girls (10-11) 50-meter breaststroke in 38.65 seconds to erase the 39.12 seconds record of Singaporean Elizabeth Lee in 2011. She also set a new record in the 100-meter butterfly event where she clocked 1:10.49 to eclipse the record of Rio Olympics gold medalist Joseph Schooling (1:11.89) established in 2006.

“She’s really impressive – an Olympian in the making. We’re so proud of her. She broke the record of Schooling established in 2006 – the very same year Jasmine was born. The future of Philippine swimming is bright. We just have to guide them towards that ultimate goal of making it to the Olympics and hopefully end the country’s medal drought in swimming. It’s been like decades since the Philippines won a medal in swimming,” said Philippine Swimming League (PSL) President Susan Papa.

The other double-gold winners were Richelle Anne Callera, girls 7-under 50-backstroke (45.91) and 100-meter butterfly (1:43.51); Kristin Ivy Austria, girls’ 16-17 50-meter breaststroke (38.68) and 200-meter freestyle (2:35.45) and Martina Estrella, girls’ 8-9 50-meter backstroke (40.98) and 100-meter butterfly (1:31.40).

Meanwhile, two-time Palarong Pambansa Most Bemedalled Swimmer Kyla Soguilon set a personal best of 33.17 seconds in the girls 12-13 50-meter backstroke, erasing her previous record of 33.39 seconds.

Also contributing to the Philippines’ gold haul were Andrea Pacheco (girls 18-over 50-m breaststroke); Diliman Preparatory School bets Paul Christian King Cusing (boys 16-17 50-m backstroke) and Lee Grant Cabral (boys 10-11 100-m butterfly); Master Charles Janda (boys 8-9 100-m butterfly); Aishel Cid Evangelista (boys 7-under 50-m backstroke); Trump Christian Luistro (boys 8-9 200-m freestyle); Nathan Saso (boys 12-13 200-m freestyle); Neil Christian Salvador (boys 12-13 50-m backstroke); Kevin Chan (boys’ 7-under 100-m butterfly); Alexandra Louise Cortez (girls 16-17 100-m butterfly) and Lucio Cuyong II (boys 14-15 50-m breaststroke).

The silver medal winners were Mojdeh, Janda, Callera, Cusing, Jenn Sermonia, Heather White, Arbeen Thruelen, Enzo Malayang, Jayani Balutan, Riza De Guzman Marc Bryan Dula, Albert Sermonia II, Nathan Cheng, Kiara Acierto, Rey Capistrano, Chad Russell Espinas, Anne Gabrielle Purisima, Jean Dominic Bongotan, Leodd Troy Dalman, while the bronze medalists were Cusing, Asierto, Salvador, Pacheco, Heather White, Bea Quiambao, Tara Beard, Rowena De Guzman, Jude Gapultos, Risha De Guzman, Ruben White, Chloe Laurente, Elaine Galang, Hannah Ataza and Paula Carmela Cusing.