Magnitude 6.0 quake rocks Davao, CDO; 19 tremors hit offshore of Davao Oriental town since Monday

DAVAO CITY — A 6.0 magnitude earthquake hit parts of Davao, Cagayan de Oro and Cotabato cities at 5:21 a.m. on Wednesday.

Data from the Philippine Institute of Volcanology and Seismology (Phivolcs) showed the tremor’s epicenter was traced six kilometers southwest of Wao, Lanao del Sur.

It has a depth of one kilometer and tectonic in origin, Phivolcs added.

A magnitude 5.1 tremor also hit the province of Davao Oriental at around 1:41 a.m., Phivolcs said.

The epicenter of the quake was traced offshore 230 kilometers east of Governor Generoso town with a depth of 18 kilometers and tectonic in origin.

The intensity I quake was felt in the town of Sarangani, Davao Occidental, Phivolcs said.

Phivolcs also recorded 19 earthquakes that hit Governor Generoso town since Monday.

A 5.7 tremor struck 199 kilometers south of the town Monday with an intensity I hitting the town of Alabel in Sarangani and intensity II affecting Governor Generoso and Tarragona towns in Davao Oriental.

Most of the 19 tremors since Monday occurred offshore of Governor Generoso town.

No damages were reported by authorities as of press time.

Intensity IV was felt in the areas of Davao City, Cagayan de Oro City, Cotabato City, Gingoog City and Misamis Oriental.

Authorities are now assessing the damages that the strong quake caused in the affected cities.

Phivolcs said an aftershock is expected after the quake hit. ALEXANDER LOPEZ/PNA –