LP ratifies appointments of Robredo, Pangilinan

MANILA, Aug. 10 — The Liberal Party’s National Executive Council (NECO) on Thursday ratified the party chairmanship of Vice President Leni Robredo and the party presidency of Sen. Francis Pangilinan.

Meanwhile, the council also ratified a resolution conferring the title of chairman emeritus to former President Benigno Aquino III during the first official gathering of the party since the May 2016 presidential election held at the UP University Hotel.

In a press statement, LP said that the ratification of Pangilinan’s party presidency granted “full authority to the party president to appoint such other party officers and political organs and units.”

Pangilinan said he chose to take up the LP presidency “not because of the certainty of victory, but because of the certainty of our conviction” despite the departure of many LP members from the party.

He enumerated his plans for the party and the Philippines, including the rebuilding of a genuine people’s party, infusing the party with “new blood” from the academe, basic sectors, civil society organizations, entrepreneurs, the religious and faith-based sectors, arts and culture, and women.

“Sa krisis, sinasabi nila, nariyan din ang oportunidad. At narito tayo humaharap sa oportunidad na palakasin ang ating partido upang maging tunay na partido ng taumbayan (In a crisis, they say, there’s opportunity. And here we are facing the opportunity to strengthen our party to be a true party of our people),” Pangilinan said.

Also present during the meeting were Senate Minority Leader Frank Drilon and Senator Paolo Benigno Aquino IV; former LP presidents Mar Roxas, Butch Abad, and Wigberto Tanada; Representatives Kit Belmonte, Nene Sato, Teddy Baguilat, Edcel Lagman, Raul Daza, Bolet Banal, and former House Speaker Sonny Belmonte. PNA-northboundasia.com