Libranza, Astrolabio are new Minproba champs

DAVAO City — Stablemates Genesis “Cobra” Libranza and Vincent Astrolabio of the MP Davao Boxing Gym are now both champions in the Mindanao Professional Boxing Association (Minproba) after beating their respective opponents in the “Bakbaka sa South Cotabato” last Monday at the South Cotabato Sports Center in Koronadal City.

Libranza needed only two minutes and 35 seconds in the first round to stop Romulo Ramayan via a technical knockout and to take the vacant Minproba flyweight title.

Libranza immediately unleashed his vicious left-right combinations that saw Ramayan turned his back after absorbing the powerful shots mostly on the head and face.

Referee Ramuel Ovalo immediately stopped the fight and helped Ramayan to his corner for a quick medical check-up.

“Thank you po Lord God at nanalo po ako. Nagpapasalamat din po ako sa aking manager at trainer na si Nonoy Neri,” said Libranza, who was awarded a belt by Minproba supervisor Lito delos Reyes and SB Member Kag. Sheena Mar Baclaan, president of the organizing Philippine Councilors League South Cotabato Chapter.

Astrolabio, on the other hand, scored a unanimous decision against a hard-fighting Joe Tejones of the Wowie Lalanto Stable from Cagayan de Oro City to capture the vacant Minproba bantamweight crown.

Astrolabio had a slow start as Tejones kept on attacking him in the first two rounds. But Astrolabio was able to defend himself and landed more punches against Tejones in the remaining rounds.

Judges Jaime Mata and Sabas Ponpon Jr. both scored it 98-91 while judge Romy Fordaliza saw it 96-93 all in favor of Astrolabio, who remained unbeaten with nine straight wins and seven knockouts.

“Malakas at magaling din na kalaban si Tejones. Mas marami lang suntok si Astrolabio,” said MP Davao Gym chief trainer and manager Raides “Nonoy” Neri.

The 20-year old Astrolabio was awarded a belt by Koronadal City Mayor Peter Miguel, who promised to support more professional boxing events in the future.

Meanwhile, former Philippine junior welterweight champion Adones “Ironman” Cabalquinto, also of the MP Davao Gym, landed powerful jabs to force Romeo Jakosalem to quit during the rest period of the 6th round.

In the other bouts, Orlie Silvestre won against Lester John Pronco by a unanimous decision; Aries Buenavidez stopped Rodel Tejares in 2:10 of the 1st round; Joel Lino beat Joey Antonio by UD; Mervin Lulu defeated Ryan Makiputin by UD; Rene Mark Cuarto TKO’d Rex Padrogane in 2:07 of the 5th round; Vincent Dayaganon won by a UD over Jessie James Boyles; Frankie Batu-on beat Marklin Itim by a majority decision; Ruben Davidas stopped Jeorge Perez by a TKO in 1:50 of the 1st round. Lolito de los Reyes/