La Union Officials Join Duterte’s PDP-Laban


AGOO, La Union – At least 95 percent of the incumbent elected officials of the province led by Governor Francisco Emmanuel Ortega III took their oath as members of President Duterte’s Partido Demokratiko Pilipino – Lakas ng Bayan (PDP-Laban) Thursday here.

House Speaker Pantaleon Alvarez, PDP-Laban Secretary General, officiated the oath- taking of 18 of the 20 mayors, incumbent provincial board members, vice mayors, city and municipal councilors, and other local politicians.


“This only shows that most of our local leaders in the provinces are supporting the President’s agenda and his programs for our country,” Alvarez said.

Most of the new PDP-Laban members in La Union belonged to the Nationalist Peoples’ Coalition and the Liberal Party.

Glen Badon, PDP-Laban national executive director, said that the party has become super strong since almost all the political leaders in the country’s provinces have affiliated with the administration party because they want help in the President’s advocacy of good governance.

“PDP-Laban will support the main objective of the administration of Federalism. We fully support all the government’s agenda for the good of the country,” Badon said.

La Union Representative Sandra Young-Eriguel (2nd District) and Rep. Pablo Ortega (1st District) joined the party right after the elections in May 2016.

“In line with our (La Union officials) goals to help and serve our constituents, we join the party of our President because we support his plans and programs for the progress of our country and our locality,” Rep. Eriguel, PDP-Laban district chair, said.

The oath- taking coincided with the on-going Congressional Caravan in which members of the House of Representatives visit and assess various projects, especially infrastructures, in Northern and Central Luzon. Jun Elias/

Exit mobile version