Ilocos Norte barangay councils elect new set of officers

LAOAG CITY, Ilocos Norte — The Association of Barangay Councils (ABC) Ilocos Norte Chapter elected a new set of officers and board of directors at the Provincial Capitol session hall Friday.

In a special election witnessed by representatives of the Commission on Election-Laoag City, Department of Interior and Local Goverment, Philippine Chamber of Commerce and Industry and a pastor from the Sarrat Baptist Church, the association elected Punong Barangays Paul Baltazar of Sarrat as president; Celso Ragusante of Paoay as vice president; and Joel Tesoro, Faustino Tomas, Al Aguibay, Alexander Navarro and Reynaldo Mariano as board of directors.

Baltazar was filling a position that was vacated by former Federated ABC president Charles Tadena, who has been elected councilor of Dingras town. He took over Tadena’s post, being a former ex-officio member of the Provincial Board (PB).

Under the Local Government Code, the League of Barangays of the Philippines is governed by its constitution and by-laws. PNA/