House approves on final reading bill declaring April 5 as “Pangasinan Day”

MANILA, Philippines — The House of Representatives recently approved on third and final reading a proposal to declare April 5 of every year as a special non-working holiday in the whole province of Pangasinan to be known as “Pangasinan Day.”

Approved by the House before the congressional adjournment was House Bill 6345 principally authored by Rep. Leopoldo N. Bataoil (2nd District, Pangasinan).

“The declaration of April 5 as a special non-working holiday in our province to be known as ‘Pangasinan Day’ will give full opportunity to the residents to commemorate and celebrate the historic event of its foundation. Several commemorative events will then be held,” said Bataoil.

Bataoil said on April 2, 2013, Proclamation No. 568 issued by the Office of the President and signed by Executive Secretary Pacquito Ochoa, Jr., in behalf of President Aquino, declared April 5 that year as a special non-working holiday in the solon’s province as the “Agew na Pangasinan.” “It was to celebrate the foundation day of Pangasinan,” said Bataoil.

Bataoil, a Vice Chairman of the House Committee on Public Order and Safety, cited the finding of a committee chaired by lawyer Gonzalo Duque that Pangasinan was constituted as a province or “alcaldea” under the Spanish crown on April 5, 1580, was adopted in a provincial ordinance enacted in 2014 by the Sangguniang Panlalawigan.

In a previous hearing conducted by the House Committee on Revision of Laws chaired by Rep. Marlyn Primicias-Agabas (6th District, Pangasinan) on various bills declaring as special non-working holiday the foundation day of several provinces, it was raised by lawmakers that the enactment into law of the holiday declaration will do away with the need to issue a yearly proclamation by Malacañang of a special nonworking holiday in the provinces concerned.

This year, Malacañang issued Proclamation 1240 declaring April 5, 2016 as a special non-working day in the province of Pangasinan. The holiday marks the 436th “Agew na Pangasinan”, the celebration of the Foundation Day of the Province of Pangasinan.

House Bill 6345 is co-authored by Reps. Nicasio M. Aliping, Jr., Juliette T. Uy, Frederick “Erick” F. Abueg, Lawrence Lemuel H. Fortun, Oscar S. Rodriguez, and Marlyn L. Primicias-Agabas.

The bill has been transmitted to the Senate for concurrence. PNA/