Four slain Kalinga cops to receive posthumous Pamanang Lingkod Bayani award

TABUK CITY, Kalinga — The Civil Service Commission (CSC) will honor the four slain policemen in Kalinga with the posthumous Pamanang Lingkod Bayani Award and will give PHP100,000 financial assistance to their beneficiaries.

The four killed policemen, identified as Police Officer 3 Cruzaldo Lawagan, PO2 Juvenal Aguinaldo, PO1 Vincent Tay-od and PO1 Charles Ryan Compas, all of the Kalinga PNP Provincial Public Safety Company based in Lubuagan in Kalinga province, will receive the award soonest, according to Annette Paredes, CSC-Cordillera chief human resource specialist.

In a statement, Paredes said she has linked up with the Kalinga provincial police and the provincial government to help them finalize the documentation prior to the awarding rites slated for the slain policemen.

It could be recalled that the four policemen were killed in action in a shootout with a nationwide-topnotch wanted gang leader, Willie Sagasag, after they tried to serve an arrest warrant on him on the killing of Kalinga Judge Milnar Lammawin.

She also cited the bravery of three other policemen identified as Police Senior Inspector Edward Liclic (team leader), Police Officer 1 Ferdie Diwag and PO1 Ferdinand Asuncion who were wounded and being treated at the Lubuagan District Hospital. Villamor Visaya Jr./