Firms get original proponent status for Davao, Kalibo airports

MANILA — The Department of Transportation (DOTr) announced on Tuesday that it granted the original proponent status (OPS) on the proposals to expand, operate and manage the Davao and Kalibo International Airports.

This as the board of the Civil Aviation Authority of the Philippines (CAAP), headed by DOTr Secretary Arthur Tugade, secured the necessary approval of its members in favor of granting the OPS to the proponents of the Davao and Kalibo airports last Friday.

“The Board is currently meeting with the proponents to facilitate completion of requirements by the National Economic and Development Authority (NEDA), who will still evaluate the proposals for approval,” the DOTr said in a statement.

The CAAP Board members are CAAP Director General Jim Sydiongco, Tourism Secretary Bernadette Romulo-Puyat, Finance Secretary Carlos Dominguez III, Interior and Local Government Secretary Eduardo Año, Foreign Affairs Secretary Teodoro Locsin Jr., Labor Secretary Silvestre Bello III, and Justice Secretary Menardo Guevarra.

CAAP granted the OPS to Chelsea Logistics Holdings Corporation for operation, maintenance and expansion of Davao International Airport. Chelsea submitted an unsolicited proposal worth PHP49 billion for the undertaking. It will also offer a new technology to enhance passenger experience and an airport operator, which captures data to deliver efficient operations.

Meanwhile, Mega 7 Construction Corporation has submitted a PHP3.8 billion unsolicited proposal for the operation, maintenance and upgrade of facilities and systems of the Kalibo International Airport.

Both proposals will include the expansion of passenger terminal buildings and a concession period of 30 years.

These will be endorsed to the National Economic and Development Authority-Investment Coordination Committee (NEDA-ICC).

If approved by the NEDA, both proposals will undergo a Swiss Challenge, wherein other companies may submit their bid offers to match those being offered by the original proponents. Aerol John Pateña/