Filipino cyclists to compete in Indonesia

MANILA — Two teams from the Philippines will compete in the Tour de Flores cycling tournament to be held July 14 to 19 in Indonesia’s island province of East Nusa Tenggara.

The Tour de Flores is a 2.2 race sanctioned by the International Cycling Federation, the world’s governing body in the sport.

Go for Gold and 7-Eleven BRP will join 11 other teams in the six-day competition starting at Larantuka in East Flores and finish in Labuan Bajo, West Manggarai.

The Go for Gold team sponsored by Jeremy Go will be represented by Ronnel Hualda (captain), Elmer Navarro, Jerry Aquino Jr. and Ryan Cayubit.

Aquino and Cayubit are using the tournament as tune-up for their participation in the Southeast Asian Games in Malaysia next month.

The 7-Eleven BRP squad is composed of Filipinos Marcelo Felipe and Rustom Lim, Spanish Edgar Nieto and Australians Jesse Ewart and Josh Berry.

Filipino Julius Mark Bonzo will be riding for CCN-Laos. The other participating teams are from Japan, South Korea, China, Australia, Thailand, Malaysia as well as countries in Europe and Africa.

The Tour de Flores covers a total of 721.6 kilometers, which is divided into six legs: Larantuka – Maumere (138.5 kilometers), Maumere – Ende (141.3 kilometers), Ende – Mbay (111 kilometers), Mbay – Borong (151 kilometers), Borong – Ruteng (58 kilometers) and Ruteng – Labuan Bajo (121.5 kilometers).