BOCAUE, Bulacan — The Department of Trade and Industry (DTI) held a random inspection of fireworks stores on Tuesday in Bocaue, Bulacan, the country’s capital of fireworks manufacturers and retailers.

DTI Consumer Protection Group Undersecretary Victorio Mario Dimagiba led the special monitoring activity to verify that firecrackers and pyrotechnic devices being sold in the market have passed the requirements of Philippine National Standard (PNS) such as classification, construction and performance, and labelling.

Dimagiba said consumers should look for Philippine Standard (PS)-marked fireworks to ensure the safety of these products.

The DTI requires manufacturers to apply for PS license prior to distribution or sale of firecrackers and pyrotechnic devices through the Bureau of Product Standards (BPS).

As of Dec. 23, the BPS has issued PS license to 17 manufacturers. These are: A.G.E. Pyrotechnic Enterprises; Diamond Fireworks; Double L Fireworks; Dragon Fireworks, Inc.; Global Lions Fireworks, Inc.; Golden Leopard King Fireworks Manufacturer; Legendary Fireworks, Inc.; MADZ Firecrackers and Pyrotechnic – Vista Alegre; Mary P Diaresco Pyrotechnics Manufacturing; Nation Fireworks; Pegasus Fireworks; Phoenix Fireworks; Platinum Fireworks, Inc.; Purity Fireworks; Pyro Kreations Fireworks; Tiger Fireworks; and Wow Fireworks Manufacturing.

Dimagiba also mentioned that consumers should check the labelling of fireworks which should contain information such as name of fireworks, classification and intended use, brand or trade name, name and address of manufacturer, the words “Made in the Philippines”, warning and precautionary signs, appropriate instruction for use, and effects.

He stressed that consumers should not buy imported fireworks as these are prohibited by law.

According to Republic Act No. 7183 Section 6, the importation of finished firecrackers and fireworks shall be prohibited and only duly licensed manufacturers shall be allowed to import chemicals or explosive ingredients used in the manufacture of firecrackers and pyrotechnic devices.

The same law also lists types of fireworks allowed to be sold in the market. These include Baby Rocket, Bawang, Small Triangulo, Pulling of Strings, Paper Caps, El Diablo, Judas’ Belt, and Sky Rocket (Kwitis) for firecrackers as well as Sparkelrs, Luces, Fountain, Mabuhay, Roman Candle, Trompillo, Airwolf, Whistle Device, and Butterfly for pyrotechnic devices.

On the other hand, banned fireworks are Lolo Thunder, Pla-Pla, Watusi, Kwiton, Og, Atomic Bomb, Piccolo, Goodbye Philippines, and large sizes of Judas’ Belt and Bawang. PNA/northboundasia.com