SAN FERNANDO CITY, La Union – The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) regional office here has started implementing the “Lakbay-Alalay” program for the Holy Week in the four provinces of Pangasinan, La Union, Ilocos Sur and Ilocos Norte.

   Director Melanio Briosos has directed all the ten District Engineers to organize their team to ensure the smooth travel and provide reliable assistance to motorist from March 21- March 28, according to the memorandum order of DPWH Secretary Rogelio Singson.

   Included in the measures are the installation of proper traffic signage and warning signs with clear and sight distance of all on-going construction projects. Legible informational and directional signs are also installed on visible locations along national roads. Pavement markings were also provided with reflectors to guide night driving motorist with kilometer post bearing legible details and information.

   Briosos said that all road sections must be well maintained and free of potholes, saying,“Field personnel wearing prescribed DPWH uniform or DPWH orange T-shirts will be assigned on a round-the-clock shift to provide personal and prompt assistance on normal and emergency situations.”

   District Maintenance Engineers are instructed to remove obstructions along road-right-of-way on national roads and bridges, according to Briosos.

   The “Lakbay-Alalay” team will coordinate with concerned government agencies like the Land Transportation Office, police, and local government units to give necessary assistance.

   Briosos said that the stations of the “Lakbay Alalay” team of DPWH Ilocos Norte 1st and 2nd District Engineering Offices will be located at the National Highway in the towns of Bacarra, Burgos, Pagudpud, Badoc, Currimao, San Nicolas and Batac City.

   Ilocos Sur 1st District Engineering team will be at the highway in Bantay and Magsingal towns while 2nd District Engineering will be positioned along the National Highway of Narvacan, and Candon City proper.

   DPWH La Union 1st Engineering District will be stationed at the San Fernando-Bacnotan and Bacnotan-Sudipen area; the DPWH 2nd team along the Agoo, Caba, and the roads along Agoo-Baguio City, Caba-Bauang, Rosario-Pugo and Bauang-Baguio City Roads.

   DPWH Pangasinan “Lakbay Alalay” teams will be at the Pangasinan-Zambales Road and Alaminos City proper; San Jacinto Section along Mangaldan-Manaoag-Binalonan Road, Pangasinan-Tarlac Road, Pangasinan-La Union Road and Dagupan City National Roads, Carmen-Rosales, Binalonan and Pangasinan-Nueva-Viscaya Road; Urdaneta Junction-Dagupan Road,Villasis-Malasiqui-San Carlos Road,Camiling-Wawa-Bayambang-Malasiqui-Sta Barbara Road; and Carmen Junction-Bayambang-San Carlos –Manat Road. JUN ELIAS/northboundasia.com