Comelec to proclaim the 12 elected senators either Tuesday or Thursday next week

MANILA — The Commission on Elections (Comelec) is looking to proclaim the 12 winners in the senatorial race next week — either on Tuesday or Thursday.

According to Comelec Chairman Juan Andres Bautista, the proclamation is likely to be conducted over a week after the May 9 polls, as some areas will still be conducting special polls on Saturday.

“Hindi puede this weekend (ang proclamation), kasi meron pa tayong special polls on May 14,” he said an interview on Friday.

Comelec Commissioner Rowena Guanzon echoed Bautista’s statement, noting that the proclamation will be held either on Tuesday or Thursday and they will be proclaiming all the 12 senatorial winners.

“Ang sabi ni Commissioner Christian Robert Lim, kung hindi po Tuesday, ang estimate ay Thursday. Sabay-sabay na naming ipo-proclaim ‘yung 12,” she said.

Earlier, the poll body announced that they will be conducting special polls in 55 clustered precincts in 14 towns in the country on Saturday, May 14.

A total of 19,791 voters will be casting their votes during the special polls in Cordova, Cebu; Maitum, Sarangani; Sta. Cruz, Marinduque; Anini-y, Antique; San Remigio, Antique; Lope de Vega, Northern Samar; and Matuguinao, Western Samar.

Special elections will also be held in 26 clustered precincts in Binidayan, Lanao del Sur; six clustered precincts in Pata, Sulu; 10 clustered precincts in Panglima Estino, Sulu; and three clustered precincts in Tamparan, Lanao del Sur.

On Thursday, the poll body also announced that three precincts in three towns will be holding special polls on Saturday. The precincts are located in Sultan Kudarat, Maguindanao; Loreto, Agusan del Sur; and Hinigaran, Negros Occidental.

Section 6 of the Omnibus Election Code (OEC) provides that failure of elections may be declared on account of force majeure, violence, terrorism, fraud, or other analogous causes when the election in any polling place has not been held on the date fixed.

It also provides that the Commission shall call for the holding or continuation of the election not held or suspended on a date reasonably close to the date of the election and must not be later than 30 days. Ferdinand Patinio/PNA/