City of San Fernando, La Union under MECQ

SAN FERNANDO CITY, La Union – Governor Francisco Emmanuel “Pacoy” Ortega III, through Executive Order (EO) No. 11 issued on Thursday, has placed the City of San Fernando, La Union under Modified Enhanced Community Quarantine (MECQ) from April 10 to 22 this year.

The heightened classification aims to arrest the further spread of Covid-19 in city.

Ortega said the Inter-Agency Task Force for the Management of Emerging Infectious Diseases (IATF-EID) has classified the province of La Union under modified general community quarantine (MGCQ).

The number of active cases in the province rose to a total of 1,319 with an average attack rate of 19.75%

Local Chief Executive of the city agreed on the recomendation to declare heigthened classification during the Governor’s Meeting with the Mayors which was held on April 7, 2021.

The towns of Agoo, Tubao, Aringay, Naguilian and Luna were also placed under MECQ from April 8 to 21 this year.

Through the EO, Ortega has tasked the local chief executives and the local Philippine National Police to ensure compliance with the operational guidelines on the application of the zoning containment strategy in the localization of the national action plan against Covid-19 response and other applicable guidelines during the implementation of MECQ.

IATF-EID Resolution No. 30 dated April 29, 2020, and Presidential Executive Order No. 112 dated April 30, 2020, authorized the Provincial Governors to impose, lift, or extend community quarantine in component cities and municipalities subject to the approval of the Regional Inter-Agency Task Force against Covid-19, the EO read. Northbound Philippines News