BAGUIO CITY -– The 30th Anniversary of the National Correspondents Club of Baguio (NCCB) will be celebrated through the Kafagway Sports Luminary Award rites honoring the most outstanding national and international athletes and sports leaders from Baguio City and other parts of the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR).

Ferdinand Balanag on Monday, February 15 said the Kafagway Sports Luminary Award ceremony will happen on February 20 at the City Social Welfare and Development Office (CSWDO) at the Silungan Center of the Department of Social Welfare and Development (DSWD) Cordillera Regional Office.

Twenty eight awardees from 14 sports disciplines will be recognized to receive individual awards in recognition for commendable performances in the different international sports competitions last year.

Divine Wally, the first ever Filipino lady Wushu-Sanshu warrior to win a gold medal in the World Wushu Championships held in Indonesia last year, will lead the honorees.

The University of the Cordilleras (UC) student was unanimously named as “Athlete of the Year 2015” by the awards and recognition committee head, NCCB President Nars Padilla.

Veteran golfer Fred Puckett of Camp John Hay, a top individual par buster in the Fil-Am International Golf Tournament will take the “Athlete of the Decade” plum.

The other podium sportsmen-awardees include Daniel Parantac, the “Coach of the Year”.

Parantac, a multi-awarded Wushu internationalist turned to coaching after undergoing medical procedures after an injury.

The Coach of the Decade trophy goes to Arturo Alimbuyao of the Baguio City National High School, Physical Education Department, a former Gintong Alay Trackstar of the South East Asian Games (SEAG) fame.

Mark Sangiao, founder of the Mixed Martial Arts (MMA) Team Lakay will be cited as the most outstanding international sports promoter.

The Most Outstanding Organization and team award goes to the Wushu Federation of the Philippines-CAR chapter, headed by Tony Candelaria.

Chess Grand Master Haridas Pascua form the University of Baguio will be cited as the most promising athlete.

The award presenters are Baguio City Mayor Mauricio Domogan, Baguio City Representative Nicasio Aliping Jr and Professor Federico Balanag, President and Chief Executive Officer (CEO) of the Benevolent Association of Retired Persons (BARP) Foundation and the CSWDO head Betty Fangasan.

Other local athletes to be honored are Reynold and Leigh Domalsin (bodybuilding); Meer Kareel Hongitan and Loren Childe Balaoing (archery); Katherine Kate Santos (athletics); Kevin Belingon, Crisanto Pitpitunge and Gina Inciong (MMA); Ken Omengan, Spencer Bahod and Tonton Ensayod (Wushu); 11-yr old Iñigo Anton (car racing); Marcelo Bautista and Sandi Menchi Abahan (ultra-marathon run) and Agustin Kitan, Jaime Mangiga and Agustina Balintoc as members of the PWD Philippine Olympic Team. PNA/