Apayao to host Ilocano writers National Confab

LUNA, Apayao, Philippines — Over 200 Ilocano writers all over the Philippines and some parts of the United States and Hongkong will gather to celebrate the month of Ilocano Literature in April here.

This as then former President Gloria Macapagal-Arroyo signed Proclamation No. 26, declaring the month of April as the month of Ilocano Literature in 2001.

As the highlight of the month-long celebration, the association of Ilocano writers of the Philippines locally known as the Gunglo Dagiti Mannurat nga Ilocano (GUMIL) iti Filipinas (GF) composed of 10 chapters based in the Philippines including Oahu, Hawaii and Hongkong will be conducting their annual convention on April 22-24 at the Apayao Agri-Tourism and Sports Complex in San Gregorio, Luna, Apayao.

With funding assistance from the National Commission for Culture and the Arts, the 48th national GUMIL convention popularly known as “Dap-ayan 2016” will be hosted by the youngest GUMIL chapter of Apayao led by its president and current Apayao board member Remy Albano.

Dubbed as, “Ni Gumiliano as kas Umili iti Lubong,”, the annual convention of Ilocano writers seeks to promote Ilocano Literature in multi-media platform to all interested individuals.

Popular and award-winning writers such as Bannawag Editor Cles B. Rambaud, Joel B. Manuel, Aileen R. Rambaud, Sherma E. Benosa, Anna Liza M. Gaspar, Cagayan Board Member Vilmer V. Viloria, BM Albano, Delfin P. Dumayas, Freddie G. Lazaro, Eliseo B. Contillo, Neyo Mario E. Valdez, Dr. Jaime G. Raras, Prof. Edna C. Nagtalon, Ariel S. Tabag and Virgilio D. Domaloy will also impart their knowledge to new and budding writers during the three-day event.

Attended by hundreds of public school teachers, students and non-GUMIL members, the convention highlights seminar workshops for children and youth literature, the literature of politics and public service, role of print media in time of climate change, the ABCs of print and broadcast journalism, photography, launching of several Ilocano books, cultural show and awarding of winners in previously held Ilocano literary contests.

A half-day eco-tour on April 23 will also feature Apayao’s popular tourism destinations such as the Lussok Crystal Cave in Dagupan, Bayugao Falls, and the Manacota cave and underground river in Marag Valley.

GF president Arthur P. Urata Sr. is also expected to deliver his speech in line with the theme of the convention while Dr. Rex Navarro of the Cagayan State University will discuss the role of the print media in the time of climate change.

Governor Elias C. Bulut and Rep. Eleanor C. Bulut-Begtang of the lone district of Apayao are also invited to attend.

The convention is also in support of President Benigno Aquino III Proclamation No. 968 signed on February 2015, declaring the same month of April as the National Literature Month. PNA/ northboundasia.com