Aguilar rules first leg of Diamond Motors Corp “Supercross”

TAYTAY, Rizal — Glenn Aguilar of KTM Racing Team on Saturday displayed solid riding skills and capitalized his decades experience in attacking, ruled the Pro-Open Production -first leg of the Diamond Motor Corp. Supercross held at the MX Messsiah Fairgrounds here.

Aguilar’s impeccable top finish earned him a commanding 25 points in the five-leg series of the race’ second edition presented by Generation Congregation and sponsored by Diamond Motor Corp.

“My goal was just to be consistent and it paid-off,” said the jubilant Aguilar in the 15-lap race amid overcast weather and witnessed by thousand local spectators, families and friends of the participating riders.

“To win a long race like this, you must keep your pace, and i just did,” said the 44-year ol Aguilar, the 2003 Asian Rider of the Year, pride of Las Pinas and a veteran rider spanning for more than two decades.

“To win a long race like this, you must keep your pace, and i just did,” said the 44-year old Aguilar, the 2003 Asian Rider of the Year and pride of Las Pinas. He pocketed Php 15,000 for his effort.

Aguilar’s No. 1 nemesis, Bornok Mangosong, 25, the pride of Davao of Yamaha Racing Team, miscalculated a sharp turn midway in fourth lap which caused him precious seconds settled for second spot for 22 points and received Php 10,000 while Jerick Mitra of H7 Racing came in third with 20 points (P7,000).

“Na-excite ako at nagmadali ako (I felt excited and i rushed myself),” Mangosong said, explaining his “mistake” in that sharp turn, by accidentally holding on the break which delayed him for 5 seconds in the race.

“There are four more legs, il comeback with vengeance, ” the fear-less Mangosong, who actually posted the best qualifying time.

Rounding the Top Ten leg of the race supported also Go PRO Philippines, PTT Philippines, Yamaha Philippines, DC Philippines and Xtreme Adrenaline are: JC Rellosa (4th), Ralph Ramento (5th), Ompong Gabriel (6th), Buboy Antonio (7th), Christian Ramento (8th), Jerich Farr (9th) and Enzo Rellosa (10th). Primo Agatep/