4 regions hit by ‘Ompong’ placed under state of calamity

MANILA — President Rodrigo Duterte has signed Proclamation No. 593 declaring state of calamity in four regions including the Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR), which suffered widespread destruction and deaths due to Typhoon Ompong.

Under the proclamation signed on Sept. 25, Regions 1 (Ilocos Region), 2 (Cagayan Valley) and 3 (Central Luzon) have also been placed under state of calamity.

“The declaration of a State of Calamity will hasten the rescue, recovery, relief and rehabilitation efforts of the government and the private sector, including any international humanitarian assistance,” the proclamation stated.

The proclamation also provides basis for price control measures and give both national and local government units ample latitude to utilize funds needed for recovery and rehabilitation of the affected areas.

Duterte has directed all departments and other concerned government agencies to implement and execute “rescue, recovery, relief and rehabilitation works” in coordination with local government units (LGUs) in the four regions.

The law enforcement agencies, with the support of the Armed Forces of the Philippines , have also been ordered to ensure peace and order in the affected areas.

According to the latest report of the National Disaster Risk Reduction and Management Council (NDRRMC), a total of 264,304 families or 1,096,799 persons from 3,780 barangays particularly in the said four regions were affected by Ompong.

The typhoon also left at least PHP14.3 billion in agricultural damage and nearly 90 people dead, including 72 due to landslides in Itogon, Benguet. PNA-northboundasia.com