35 road sections in Luzon closed to traffic due to ‘Lando’ — DPWH

35 road sections in Luzon closed to traffic due to ‘Lando’ — DPWH

MANILA — Thirty-five road sections remain closed to traffic in the northern part of the country which was hit by typhoon “Lando” over the weekend, the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) said Tuesday.

Based on the department’s exectuve summary report as of 8 a.m. Tuesday, the number of impassable roads in Cordillera Administrative Region (CAR), Regions 2 and 3 are at 17, 4, and 14, respectively.

The said roads are still closed due to landslides, flooded roads, soil erosion, fallen trees and electric posts, washed out road section, washed out bridge approach, and mudflow.

The estimated damage to infrastructure caused by the storm was placed at PhP15.8 million.

The following roads in the CAR that are not passable are: Claveria-Calanasan Road; Apayao (Calanasan)-Ilocos Norte Road; Benguet-Nueva Viscaya Road; Gurel-Bakod-Kabayan-Buguias Road; Itogon-Dalupirip Road; Baguio-Bua-Itogon Road; Acop-Kapangan-Kibungan-Bakun Road; Gurel-Bokod-Buguias-Abatan Road; Abatan-Mankayan-Cervantes Road; Banaue-Mayoyao-Aguinaldo-Isable Road; Junction Talubin-Barlig-Natonin-Paracelis-Calacad Road; Mt. Province-Nueva Vizcaya Road and Mt. Province-Cagayan via Tabuk-Enrile Road.

In Region 2: Balbalan-Pinukpuk Road and Kalinga-Abra Road.

In Region III: Mt. Province Boundary–Cagaluan-Catanan-Pinukpuk-Abbut Road; Kennon Road; Cabagan-Sta. Maria Road; Cabagan Sta. Maria Overflow Bridge; Jct. Abbag-Guingin Bdry Road; Junction Victoria-Madella-Kasibu; Aritao-Quirino Road; Dinadiawan-Madella; Nueva Ecija-Aurora Road; Daang Maharlika Road, Labi Bridge, Brgy. Labi, Bongabon, Nueva Ecija (N.E.); Jct. Tablang-Gabaldon Road, Nueva Ecija-Aurora Road, Daang Maharlika Road, Bato Fery Bridge, Brgy. San Felipe, Laur, N.E.

Also included in the list are: Tarlac-Sta. Rosa, Brgy. Amucao, Lapaz, Tarlac; Paniqui-Ramos Road, Brgy Guiteb, Ramos, Tarlac; Conception-Lapaz Road, Sta. Monica Bridge; Caut Bridge, Caut, Lapaz, Tarlac; Baliuag-Candaba-Sta. Ana Road; Olongapo-Bugallon Road.

The DPWH regional offices in the affected areas have already installed warning signs, and conducted clearing operations.

The agency continues to monitor these areas. ( Ferdinand G. Patinio/PNA)