3 roads now open; 8 still closed in Regions 8, 4B due to ‘Urduja’


NILA — Three road sections in MIMAROPA and Eastern Visayas Region are now open to traffic, the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) said.

According to the report of DPWH – Bureau of Maintenance (DPWH-BOM), as of Tuesday, the Dr. Damian Reyes Memorial Road Boac Side (K0025+400) in Marinduque; Naval-Almeria Road (K1030+000) in Biliran; and Mainit- San Miguel-Santol Road, Santol-Carayray Section-Taghawili Bridge Approach in Leyte are now passable to vehicles.

They were earlier closed due to road slip, landslide and flooding brought about by tropical depression ‘Urduja’.

On the other hand, the following roads in MIMAROPA are not yet open: Dr. Damian Reyes Memorial Road Boac Side (K0025+400) in Marinduque and Sibuyan Circumferential Road, Tinimbawan Bridge (RCPC) Detour Bridge in Romblon due to road slip and washed-out detour bridge, respectively.

In Biliran Province, vehicles are still barred in the following roads: Naval-Caibiran Cross Country Road, Naval-Calumpang Section due to landslide; and Biliran-Naval Road (K1011+000) due to damaged retaining wall and landslide; and Biliran-Naval Circumferential Road due to damaged Catmon Bridge and Caraycaray Bridge.

It also reported that four roads are still closed in Leyte namely: Bagahupi-Babatngon-Sta. Cruz-Barugo-Carigara Road due to landslide; Jaro-Dagami-Burauen-Lapaz (K0951+500) due to damaged spillway; Libungao-Matag-ob-Palompon Road and Kananga-Tungonan Hot Spring Road due to landslide and cut/drop pavements. PNA-Photo by Robinson Ninal Jr./Presidential Photo