28 road sections in 4 regions remain impassable

MANILA — The Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) said 28 road sections in four regions in the northern part of the country are still closed to traffic due to the onslaught of typhoon Lawin.

A partial report from the department showed that as of 12 pm, 18 roads in Cordillera Autonomous Region (CAR), one in Region I, four in Region 2 and five in Region III remained impassable due to flooding, road slips, damaged detour raod, damaged bridge, fallen electrical posts, soil collapse, submerged detour and landslides.

Among the roads in the CAR include Kennon Road, where motorists are barred since the area is prone to landslide. They are advised to take Marcos Highway.

Likewise, the Shilan-Beckel Road, Gurel-Bokod-Kabayan Road, Acop-Kapangan-Kibungan-Bakun Road, Baguio-Bontoc Road, and Benguet-Nueva Vizcaya Road in Benguet are also closed to traffic due to slides.

In Ifugao, the following road sections remain impassable, the Kiangan-Tinoc-Buguias Bdry. Road, Buhyo Section; Banaue-Mayaoyao-Aguinaldo-A.Lista-Isabela Bdry Road; Jct. Potia-Mt. Province Bdry Road.

The Bulo National Road, Kalinga-Cagayan Road and Tabuk-Banaue Road in Lower Kalinga are also temporary blocked.

In Mt. Province, Baguio-Bontoc Road; Tikitik Section; Sinto, Bauko; Sabangan; Mt. Province-Cagayan via Tabuk-Enrile Road; Mt. Province-Nueva Vizcaya; Mt. Province-Ilocos Sur Road via Kayan and Talubin-Barlig-Natonin-Paracelis-Calaccad Road are closed to motorists.

A Sport Utility Vehicle cross the above the knee high flood at the National Highway in Barangay Sevilla, San Fernando City, La Union on Thursday (October 20, 2016). Flooding is caused by the relentless rain brought by Typhoon Lawin. Vic ALHAMBRA JR/northboundasia.com
A 4×4 Pick-up takes the risk in crossing the above knee-high flood at the National Highway in Barangay Sevilla, San Fernando City, La Union on Thursday (October 20, 2016). VIC ALHAMBRA JR/northboundasia.com

Vehicles are also not allowed to pass through the following roads: Luna-Bangar Road, La Union in Region I; Cabagan-Sta Maria Road, Ilagan-Bigao-Palanan/Bintacan Road and Daang Maharlika, Isabela; Nueva Vizcaya-Benguet Road in Nueva Vizcaya, all in Region II and Baler-Cemento Road, Dinadiawan-Madela Rd., Nueva Ecija Aurora Road, Daang Maharlika and Nueva Ecija- Aurora Rd.

On the other hand, the DPWH said that they are conducting clearing operations at present after deploying equipment and maintenance crews and, installed warning signs in the affected areas.

They also continue to monitor the road situation. Ferdinand Patinio/PNA – northboundasia.com