16 Pangasinan towns placed under leptospirosis watchlist

LINGAYEN, Pangasinan — The Provincial Health Office (PHO) has called on residents of Pangasinan to avoid wading in floodwaters this rainy season as it already placed 16 towns under leptospirosis watchlist.

Dr. Anna de Guzman, provincial health officer, made the call as six people already died and 40 afflicted of leptospirosis in various parts of Pangasinan since January this year.

Towns under the watch list are Mangatarem, San Jacinto, Mangaldan, Burgos, Bayambang, Sta. Barbara, Sual, Tayug, Alaminos City, Binmaley, Bolinao, Mabini, San Carlos City, Manaoiag, San Fabian and Alcala.

The City of Dagupan, a separate political unit from Pangasinan, also registers high incidence of leptospirosis each year.

The PHO said that leptospirosis is a disease caused by the bacteria leptospira that enters the body of a person through an open wound in the feet or lower part of the body.

The latest fatality from leptospirosis was a woman from Barangay Bari, in Mangaldan town.

The PHO said the best way to avoid the disease is to refrain from wading in floodwaters and if it cannot be avoided, must wear protective boots.

De Guzman advised Pangasinan residents that at the first sign of the disease, they must have the patients examined by a health professional and not wait for the patients’ condition to worsen. lvmicua/PNA-northboundasia.com