10 Aegis Juris fratmen in Atio death surrender to NBI

MANILA — The 10 members of the Aegis Juris fraternity, who were indicted over the death of University of Sto. Tomas (UST) law student Horacio “Atio” Tomas Castillo III, have voluntarily surrendered, the National Bureau of Investigation (NBI) confirmed on Friday.
“I confirm that they are now in the custody of the Death Investigation Division (DID),” NBI spokesman Ferdinand Lavin said a press conference.
Lavin said the frat members were picked up around 11 a.m Friday morning.

“They were picked up in one place all 10 of them,” he added.

Lavin explained it will be up to the court to decide where all of the 10 accused will be detained.

“If the court says they will stay in the NBI, then we will keep them. If it says we will transfer them, then we will transfer them,” he said.

The suspects are facing charges for violation of Republic Act 8049, the Anti-Hazing Law, after the Department of Justice (DOJ) found probable cause to indict them over Castillo’s death.

On Thursday, Manila Regional Trial Court (RTC) Branch 40 Presiding Judge Alfredo Ampuan issued the warrants of arrest for Mhin Weig Chan, Jose Miguel Salamat, John Robin Ramos, Marcelino Bagtang Jr., Arvin Balag, Ralph Trangia, Axel Munro Hipe, Oliver Onofre, Joshua Joriel Macabali, and Hans Matthew Rodrigo.

Castillo died after undergoing initiation rites in the hands of Aegis Juris fraternity members in September 2017. Benjamin Pulta/PNA-northboundasia.com