Road users’ tax to fund 2 road projects in Pangasinan

LINGAYEN, Pangasinan — Two vital road projects in Pangasinan are now set to be funded by the Motor Vehicle User’s Charge, popularly known as the road users’ tax, as provided for in Republic Act 8794.

This, after the Sangguniang Panlalawigan (SP) authorized Governor Amado Espino III to sign a Memorandum of Agreement (MOA) with the Department of Public Works and Highways (DPWH) and the Department of the Interior and Local Government (DILG) for the implementation of the Special Local Road Fund (SLRF) in the province.

The resolution was approved by the SP during its regular session today (Monday) in Lingayen.

The SLRF is provided for under Republic Act 8794 or the Motor Vehicle User’s Charge (MVUC) Law.

The MOA is necessary to cause the implementation of two provincial road projects specifically the rehabilitation/upgrading of the Asingan-San Manuel-Agno Gorge located in the towns of Asingan and San Manuel; and the rehabilitation/improvement of Urbiztondo-Basista Road in Urbiztondo town.

The resolution authored by First District Board Member Napoleon Fontelera, Jr. partly states: “RA 8794 provides under Section 1 that it is the policy of the State to provide for and ensure the adequate maintenance of national and provincial roads through sufficient funding for the purpose.”

Section 7 of the Republic Act provides that all monies collected shall be earmarked solely and used exclusively for road maintenance and improvement of road drainage, for the installation of adequate and efficient traffic lights and road drainage, for the installation of adequate traffic lights and road safety devices, and for air pollution control.

It also provides that 5 percent of all the monies collected under the Act shall be deposited under the SLRF which shall be apportioned to provincial and city governments in accordance with the vehicle population and size of road network under their respective jurisdiction, and which fund shall be under DPWH in close coordination with the DILG for the transfer of funds to local government units.

The Provincial Engineering Office said the Asingan-San Manuel project will have a share of over PHP9.9 million while the Urbiztondo project will get PHP8.7 million.